Dyson Supersonic Dryer: Worth the Money?

You spent $400 on what?  

Dyson released their first hair dryer at double the price of the fanciest device on the current market. With a reputation for making solid products with cutting-edge technology, the buzz about the Dyson dryer caught my eye. It just so happened the very same week, my old hair dryer started to go on the fritz.

Fortunate circumstance or not? You decide.

After hemming, hawing and researching reviews online, the trigger was pulled and a shiny new Dyson was en route. I purchased it from Sephora comforted by their generous return policy and loyalty program. My intention was to return it at the first hint of disappointment.

Two days later, the monster machine arrived. For the last two years, I have used a compact folding hair dryer. In comparison, the Dyson was gigantic and heavy. It’s cord is the same one attached to your vacuum cleaner with a GFC plug and some additional brick-like thing hanging off it. I placed a quarter in the image below for size reference.

Dyson-Hairdryer-with-cord

I was about ready to return it, but then realized that my stinky dog could use a bath. So please meet Iggy, our guinea pig for the most expensive blow dry a dog will ever receive.

The hair dryer did seem to actually work much faster than the old one did. Iggy appreciated the lower decibels of the new machine and the dryer provided a satisfying force of air. With the diffuser attachment, he loved having all the fire power without the mess of hair flying everywhere. The Dyson brought his mane to another level of gorgeous that lasted for days. He fulfilled his destiny of becoming fluffy, soft and cuddly.

Iggy-Gorgeous

Sold. Let’s try this thing. I don’t actually style my hair when I blow dry it and decided to do a comparison with the old vs. new dryer making sure the follow the same steps. After using the Dyson, many friends stopped to ask what I had done differently to my hair and proclaimed it looked great.  Take a look and let me know what you think.

Hair-Comparison

My verdict so far…

Pros:

  • Smoother and shinier (less flyaways)
  • More volume
  • Longer lasting results
  • Heat protection
  • Beautifully designed device
  • Accessories: Storage box, 3 attachments, silicone mat
  • 2 year warranty

Cons:

  • Cost
  • Long heavy, bulky cord
  • Difficult to store in small spaces
  • New technology – not proven

The mecca is a shiny, healthy head of hair. I’ll probably need less styling products using the Dyson hair dryer and achieve that look. I am excited to be a part of the new styling revolution which makes this device a keeper.

 

Leave a comment